The Druknen Coobkook (The Drunken Cookbook)


I received another book for review from Blogging for Books. This time, it was The Druknen Coobkook (The Drunken Cookbook). I love the idea – recipes tailored to drunk people! Granted, John and I don’t exactly get blitzed on a regular basis, but we do enjoy having some wine and beer in the evening. I expected some good, quick, and easy recipes in the book. Admittedly, I was rather disappointed. Don’t get me wrong – it’s a fun book! It would be a great little gift for a 21-year-old or a foodie who really likes his wine, and with a $10 price tag it’s quite affordable. It’s an entertaining read, but I must admit that I haven’t made any recipes from it, nor do I think I will. The recipes don’t sound bad, but they many of them are a bit more involved than I expected (and would require a trip to the store). Most importantly though, this is not a book that was designed to be truly used in the kitchen. It’s a small novelty book with a hard binding, thus it doesn’t lay flat without some serious finagling. However, even if you overcome that obstacle, the print is entirely too small for a cookbook and the ingredient list is presented in a single paragraph of tiny, italicized font separated by tildes. So you end up with ingredient lists that read like this:

2 cloves garlic, crushed or finely chopped ~ 2 tbsp mayonnaise - 2 large, soft "sub" rolls or 1 French baguette - 2 tbsp olive oil....

It’s not exactly an easy read when you’re trying to cook at the same time. As a gift, this book would be a great laugh, but as an actual cookbook, you should probably pass.

 

Leave a Reply

