The Bridal Shower & The Makeup Trial


We had a very busy weekend back in Hendo and Ashevegas (Hendersonville and Asheville for the uninitiated). My makeup trial was Saturday and my bridal shower was Sunday. First of all, the shower.

My aunt and my mom went over board on the shower of course. It was a beautiful shower and it was really great to see everyone. The highlight of the day was the card from my cousins, Allyson and Brent. Brent, who is a famous artist, designed the card.

It says, “Regarding your human matrimony: Congratulate!.” The inside says, “Matrimate!” Everyone’s gifts were more than generous though and we got a lot of great stuff for our apartment. The one thing I did not enjoy was the fact that I was sitting in the middle of the room with an audience.

That made me very uncomfortable and I didn’t quite know what to do. I also couldn’t hear people very well, which was embarrassing. It was a really great day overall though.

The day before was my makeup trial. I went to a place in Asheville that does airbrush makeup. I told the woman there that I wanted pretty natural eyes with red lips. When I didn’t like the first result, they toned it down from there. This was the result.

The eyes aren’t exactly natural. I’d like just a bit of liquid liner instead of what she did, which was put on the liquid liner then spend 10 minutes putting black powder over it. Hopefully it will turn out well for the wedding since I’ve already paid for it.

17 thoughts on “The Bridal Shower & The Makeup Trial

  1. Congrats on your bridal shower and it looks like a truly memorable day. Do you know why you were left sat in the middle? I can imagine that must have been uncomfortable with all eyes on you, nonetheless it was a great day wasn’t it? That make up looks lovely. How do they do it exactly? the airbrush? Hope that you have a wonderful wedding, when it comes and best wishes your way x

  2. You appeared perfectly calm and carried on! No one could tell you were nervous I’m sure! The makeup looks good, but I’m sure she’ll be able to do the liquid liner to your liking too!

  3. It sounds like you were very blessed at your shower! I didn’t like sitting front and center at my bridal shower either (yuck). I think the makeup looks great as well. You will be a beautiful bride!

  4. Ariella, I think your make-up looks fab! Your shower sounds like it was fun. I understand the discomfort of being the center of attention. I am uncomfortable in those situations, too. When is the happy date?

  5. These events will make great memories for you down the line. Any little thing that goes in an unplanned direction will be funny and make for great stories. You look lovely. Wishing you all the very best.

  6. Hi from the Etsy blogging team! Your bridal shower looks like it was beautiful! Congratulations! I love the tablescape (those cupcakes look delicious) 🙂 When is your wedding? And your makeup looks very elegant on you, you have a beautiful face. No matter what kind of makeup you are wearing for your wedding, just know that you are beautiful and your soon-to-be husband thinks your the most beautiful woman in the world, especially on your wedding day!

    -Jamie
    pipersplacestudio.virb.com

  7. I’m weeks behind, I know, but I’m trying to catch up on my favourite blogs. Your make up looks lovely here and your shower sounds like a lot of fun. I giggled when I read that you didn’t like being in the centre of the room with an audience – that’s sort of how I felt my entire wedding day. It’s wonderful, of course, but rather surreal to find a camera in your face every time you turn around and eyes constantly on you. I’m so excited for you now it’s so close. Can’t wait to hear all about it. Yay! Xxxx

    1. Everyone keeps telling me that if the shower made me uncomfortable, then the wedding will be even worse. I think it will be a bit better having John by my side, but I didn’t think about the photographers being there too! I can’t wait to read all about your wedding!

Leave a Reply

