Some Wedding Updates


I can’t believe the wedding is less than two months away! We’re making progress on a lot of things, though there’s still so much left to do.

First of all, we officially have a caterer and a menu. My aunt said she would do it a few months ago, but we didn’t have anything really finalized about it. We finally figured out the menu and a price though. We’re having shepherd’s pie with salad and bread plus veggie lasagna for the vegetarians and anyone who doesn’t care for shepherd’s pie. I was a little concerned about not having more sides, but I talked to my mom and I think it’s going to be fine. Billie (my aunt) is an excellent cook, so I’m sure the food will be great and as long as there’s enough to go around I don’t think anyone will have a problem with it (except perhaps John’s nephew, but he’d have a problem with just about anything we served – he’s kind of a picky eater). Plus, the price is great! We’re getting the family discount, so it’s only going to be $9/person. The cheapest non-relative caterer I found in the area was going to charge $16/person for a simple chicken dish (I don’t even like chicken) plus two vegetable sides and bread, so I think we really lucked out.

My cousin, Brent Brown (Famous Artist), has also agreed to DJ for us. Unfortunately he’ll be at WCU that afternoon, so he’s not sure he’ll make it in time for the ceremony. For ceremony music though, we’ll probably just have someone manning a laptop with the music we want played.

In other news, my dispute with Amazon has been resolved. You may have read about the counterfeit Frontline fiasco earlier. I appealed the denial of my A-to-Z Guarantee claim, but it was denied the following day without giving me any reason. I ended up filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. Then this email arrived.

“Hello from Amazon.com.

My name is Chris S. and I am the Team Lead for the A-to-z Guarantee Claims Department. I am responding to your email regarding order 103-5104031-1872250.

We have issued a full refund for your issue concerning the “Merial Frontline Plus Flea and Tick Control for Cats and Kittens, 6 Doses.”  Our prior communications regarding this issue did not accurately reflect our policies regarding your claim, and I have taken the steps to provide feedback to the previous investigators who handled your case.

You may dispose of the remaining doses of the product as we do not require them to be returned.

Thank you for your patience and for choosing Amazon.com.”

I’m still not happy about how it was handled and the fact that it felt like I was dealing with two entirely different companies when going back and forth between the A-to-Z Guarantee people and customer service, but some of my faith in Amazon has been restored.

15 thoughts on “Some Wedding Updates

  1. Congrats on the wedding coming up. I wish you all the best as you continue to plan and also on your wedding day!

  2. It feels good to have things coming together all at one time, doesn’t it? So happy for you and glad that Amazon came through! The squeaky wheel really does get the grease!

  3. Yay, thanks for the wedding update. It’s kind of scary and exciting when things start to come together, isn’t it?

    1. It really is! I can’t wait, but part of me is saying, “Oh no, just give me a little more time!” At this point I’m going with the theory that anything that doesn’t get done in time didn’t need to be done to begin with.

      1. Exactly! I think however long you have, you’ll always be running around at the last minute. And you’ve just got to remember that, as long as you both turn up and there’s someone there to lead the ceremony, you’ll be fine. The rest is just icing on the cake. 🙂

Leave a Reply

