Some Exciting New Purchases!


Sorry I haven’t been posting much lately. It’s a bit odd that now that exams are over and I’m done with school for the moment I feel like I have more to do than ever. I’m going to try to be better about posting though, and I want to get out some more DIY posts, because those are always fun. In the meantime, John and I have made some exciting purchases (well, his wasn’t actually a purchase, but it’s an exciting acquisition).

My new Canon Pixma Pro9000 Mark II

I got a new printer! My old one wasn’t really up to printing the things I would like to print. I had some issues with image quality and there was no way I  could make larger prints. I wanted to upgrade but knew I couldn’t afford the kind of printer I really needed. Well, I was browsing Craigslist the other day, seeing what they had when I saw an ad for a Canon Pixma Pro9000 Mark II for $200 (they retail for about $500).  Of course, the ad said that it was brand new in the box and that the UPC code had been “carefully removed.” I decided to give them the benefit of the doubt and at least email them and ask 1) why they were selling it and 2) if they’d take $150 for it. I never heard back from them, but the next day I looked and saw that they had four more of the exact same printers for sale. Yeah, probably stolen. When I went back though, I decided to search for the same printer and found someone who seemed to be selling a legit one.

I emailed the people about it and they said that the husband had gotten it for printing photos from his DSLR a few months ago, but that his wife had mostly printed recipes and coupons on it. When it ran out of ink, they decided they couldn’t afford the ink and they’d be better off selling it. I drove out to Cary and got it for $100. I got it home, ordered some ink for it online (much cheaper than going to Staples), and it works perfectly. I can make prints up to 13″ x 19″ on this bad boy. Of course, it’s also a behemoth – it makes my sewing machine and 18″ laptop look quite dainty.

Kustom Charger Amp

The other new acquisition was a Kustom Charger Bass Combo Amp. John had a Fender 215 speaker cabinet without a head that he was trying to sell on Craigslist. He wanted to get a nice combo amp that was a bit smaller (the Fender was HUGE) and that he could actually use in the apartment. The guy who responded offered to trade him the Fender cabinet for a vintage Kustom Charger amp and a Ampeg 212 speaker cabinet. They made the trade today and John is on top of the world! We’ve been playing through practice amps, so this thing kicks the crap out of those. It sounds great, it’s in very good cosmetic condition for a 38 year old amp, and John has always wanted a Kustom amp. It looks great next to his Rickenbacker too.

John playing with his new amp

John is very happy to have an amp with “biscuits” again, and he’s probably going to try to trade the speaker cabinet for a new electric guitar. I get to use it too of course, so I’m pretty happy about it as well. Everyone’s happy but the cats.

The Angriest Cat in the World

We’re still having flea issues, so we bathed them in real flea shampoo. Jude looked particularly pissed off afterward. We also went to the store and got some flea spray for the house THAT DOESN’T SMELL! We haven’t gone through the whole apartment with it yet, so we can’t vouch for it’s effectiveness, but it really doesn’t smell. It’s Harris Flea and Tick Killer. Even though it doesn’t smell, it’s still toxic to cats when it’s wet. We did our bedroom and the bathroom tonight, so we’re going to put the cats in those rooms tomorrow while we spray down the rest of the house. Hopefully it will work!

3 thoughts on “Some Exciting New Purchases!

  1. Have you tried the frontline for kitties? It worked well for the cats you loaned us. Hope your neighbors are music lovers! That amp looks like a bad boy indeed!

Leave a Reply

