We Have Too Many Cats!


Don’t get me wrong; I adore all of our cats. However, four indoor-only cats in a two bedroom apartment is kind of a lot. The litter box situation is getting a bit out of control, but I don’t know what to do about it! We only have two boxes (the recommendation is for one per cat plus one extra) because that’s all we have room for.  We do our best to scoop them every day, but sometimes life just gets in the way. Plus, I seem to have an asthma attack every time I pour new litter into the boxes now. Luckily, we found what might be the best litter known to man – Arm and Hammer Double Duty. That’s seriously the only thing that is saving us right now, but it’s getting expensive.

Best. Litter. Ever.

Part two of the cat problem is that I’m kinda allergic to them. Of course, cat allergens are something that you get more immune to the more you’re around them. However, my doctor has been theorizing that the horrific bouts of asthma that I’ve been suffering from recently might be due to introducing the fourth cat. I don’t know if that’s the case or not, but I do know that breathing is a good thing and not being able to do so is a bit terrifying. And by the way, Prednisone really, really sucks. John keeps asking if I’m sure my parents don’t want a Dave. The cats are no longer allowed in the bedroom, which makes me really sad since that was when Darcy would come cuddle up under the covers with me, but it does make sense for the allergies (and cuts down on idiots waking us up in the middle of the night).

Of course, I’m sitting here typing this with a Lily by my computer and a Jude on my lap, which makes me very happy.  Last night, John and I were on the couch watching a movie and I had three cats climbing on me and purring.  I guess at the end of the day, they’re worth it. Even when they make messes, wake us up in the middle of the night, get on counters, steal our food, scatter my crafting supplies, and generally behave like idiots, we still love them.

On another happy cat note, we got the cats a little cat mat from Bax Cat and Co. on Etsy. We’ve gotten a few toys from her before and the cats love them, so I thought I would commission her to make a Union Jack cat mat for us as well. It turned out really well and the cats love it, though Dave took a while to get used to it. When we first put it up on the trunk in front of the window, he didn’t know what to think of it and kept jumping every time he sniffed it. It was quite amusing; I wish I had a video of it. Clearly, he’s gotten over his initial fear though.

Dave loves the new cat mat

If you’re in the market for cute cat mats or cat toys that are damn near indestructible (and adorable) I highly recommend Bax Cat and Co. She even added a Nimbus 2000 cat toy for all of the Harry Potter geeks out there!

11 thoughts on “We Have Too Many Cats!

  1. Dave’s new mat is perfect! However, I agree with the doctor that kitty allergies are probably the main problem with the asthma. How about immunotherapy? Breathing is a nice thing for a body to do!

  2. I just love your cats they are so cute! I have two cats myself so I am right there with you about the kitty litter and the dust. You might want to try natural cat liters. I have started using “Feline Pine” it doesn’t have all of the hazardous chemicals and there is no dust. Also I have tried “Worlds best cat litter” which is amazing and made from whole kernel corn however it is more expense which is why I use the feline pine instead. Although the websites for the kitty litters have rebates and coupons so you can try the product for free or at a discount.

    All the best,
    Kamara
    http://kamaragallery.blogspot.com/

    1. Thanks! I tried using natural cat litters, but Lily REFUSES to use them. She actually started going on the recycling instead of in the cat box when I tried the corn one!

  3. Stopping in from Etsy. 🙂

    We have three indoor only cats, and we battled the litter box for years. I hated the litter dust the cats kicked up because it was on EVERYTHING and they always tracked litter all over the house. I felt like my house was never clean. It’s not fun have to brush litter out of your bed before getting in each night. 😦

    About two years ago we switched to the Tidy Cats litter box (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001411SK0/ref=wms_ohs_product). It uses pellets instead of litter and has a tray with a urine pad underneath. You can scoop and flush the poop and change the litter pad when necessary. We have two boxes, both in the bathroom, so it’s easy to scoop and flush whenever we use the restroom. I change the pads every other day (sometimes three days) and rotate the pad on the off days (because cats are weird and they only pee in one section of the box). I do a compete overhaul – wash/disinfect the box and put in new pellets – once a month. I feel like these boxes stay cleaner, and I don’t have to worry about litter dust on everything or litter crumbs everywhere anymore. We have a third box for when we go on vacation/weekend trips.

    I can’t help you with your allergies, but you might want to consider trying these boxes out. They have been a sanity saver for me.

    1. I don’t know if Lily would use that (she’s a bit picky about her litter), but it looks great from my point of view! It might be worth switching out one of the boxes at least. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

