The Invitations Are Here!


Keep Calm and Marry On!

We finally ordered our wedding invitations from Vistaprint and they recently arrived. I’m quite happy with how they turned out with the small exception of the very bottom of one of the circles on the inside being cut off. It’s a very small flaw though and I’m not going to complain considering I got the invitations for about $40 including the cost of the Living Social deal ($10 for $50 of printing).

We decided to go with the geekier version of the invitation (with the Tardis on the top instead of a crown) since we are having a Doctor Who wedding. The hardest part was figuring out the wording, but this is what we ended up with.

We thought it was fun and informal, which is what we want our wedding to be. AND OH MY GOD I JUST SAW THE TYPO! Enthusiastic, not enthusiatic! DAMMIT! What should I do about that? ACK! Now I’m upset at myself. How could I have overlooked that? Should I order new ones?

UPDATE: Vistaprint’s customer service reps are my heroes! Even though the typos (and I now realize there are two of them – don’t drink and design kids) were entirely my fault, they’re sending a replacement order for free! I contacted them because John thought they might give us a bit of a discount on the reorder, but we certainly didn’t expect to get them free. I’m super happy now. The invitations will just have to wait a few more weeks to go out.

16 thoughts on “The Invitations Are Here!

  1. Ah don’t worry about the typo – it makes for fun memories in the future! I initially had February 30, 2012 as our RSVP date. I love that I gave this year an extra day πŸ™‚ Thankfully this year was a leap year so I was only one off. The best part was that several people looked them over before I printed them and NO ONE noticed.

    Stuff like that happens – one of my albums has a REALLY big mistake. The person who mastered the album swapped two of the tracks by mistake. All 1000 of the original copies of the CD have two songs in the wrong order so they don’t match the artwork or song title list. The mistake is also on all of the digital versions of the album because when they were sent to iTunes, etc., they took that track order and the names of the songs as they appeared on the artwork. Unfortunately, there was nothing I could do. I didn’t have a chance to listen to the Master copy before they were sent to be printed and so I didn’t catch the mistake.

    I think I finally did get the digital version sorted, but there are a lot of mixed up physical copies of the album out there…

    1. You’re probably right. John and I both looked them over and we sent a copy to my mom before we ordered them, but no one caught it. At least it’s not a huge typo like the wrong wedding date. Hopefully most people won’t notice. I guess it’s better than having tracks in the wrong order on 1,000 copies of an album and on iTunes πŸ˜‰ Thanks for making me feel a bit better about it. I’m still kicking myself though.

      1. Ah it happens. Life can’t be perfect, but that’s what makes it so wonderful. Practice letting things like this go – trust me, it is good practice for the day of the wedding when even the smallest incident can feel like a big one.

        The typo isn’t that bad – I didn’t notice it when I read it until I saw that you wrote about it. Don’t point it out and no one will notice. πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks! I actually emailed Vistaprint earlier and asked if I could get a bit of a discount if I reordered some corrected ones, but they’re sending a replacement order for free! Even though it was entirely my fault. I was thinking that we’d just order enough corrected ones to send to the people who might actually care if they caught it, but this is even better.

      1. Oh wow, that’s amazing. My estimation of Vistaprint has just gone up. Well done!

    1. Yes! I’m so happy with them right now. I was also very impressed by the quality of the printing, especially since you can get things so much more cheaply through them.

    1. Thanks! We went back and forth on the wording a lot because we wanted something fun and unique. I have to give all of the credit to my awesome fiance for coming up with that one πŸ™‚

  2. Awesome on getting the new set! Life is full of typos apparently… just fun (I hope!) bumps in the road of life! Congrats on getting married!

Leave a Reply

