The Newest Veil and Photography Woes


My newest creation

I finally finished my Union Jack-inspired three tier veil! I really love this veil – it’s fun and playful, but still not going to freak out any relatives at the wedding. The only thing I don’t like is trying to take decent photos of it!

I had an exam today, but almost as soon as I got home I set out to try to photograph this one and my previous veil. I’m a member of the Etsy Success team and the most common criticism I got about the photos for my last veil was that the natural background was distracting and I should go with a solid background. White on white doesn’t work very well, which was why I took the photos outdoors in the first place. This time I used a gray piece of fabric that I taped to the wall on my balcony. Clearly the results leave much to be desired.

I came very close to buying a set of photography studio backdrops and lighting off of Craigslist today – I’m just sick of trying to jury-rig everything when I try to take photos. Also, the lighting in my new apartment kind of sucks. My old apartment had all of this great direct sunlight that made photographing items much easier. It’s already hard enough trying to photograph myself (not to mention getting into my dress by myself). I can’t afford to hire a professional, so I’m at a bit of a loss. Does anyone have any advice? Or better yet, is anyone willing to come help me take some photos?

11 thoughts on “The Newest Veil and Photography Woes

  1. I think the 3 tiered veil is on the mark for the Dr. Who/English theme! Since I know nothing about photography, can’t offer any advice there, but I do think this pic is pretty good as it is!

    1. There are other photos with the veil from the back on the listings. I have to use a tripod, hit the self-timer, and hope for the best, so it’s a bit difficult.

    1. The problem with the natural background (according to several people on the Etsy success team) was that 1) it didn’t fit with the rest of my shop and 2) it was a bit distracting. I’m trying to learn more about aperture, so I might play with that sometime today and see if I can get a natural shot with a blurred background.

  2. Wrapping paper makes a good backdrop – neutral colors tend to work really well. If you haven’t already, look at photos by those on Etsy who do things a bit similar to you and try those techniques yourself.

    1. I’ve been looking at other shops with good photos, but it’s difficult to replicate because of my circumstances (poor lighting, very few nice flat walls). Many of them use gray backgrounds. Paper would be better since it wouldn’t have the folds and wrinkles, but I’d need a well-lit place with a flat wall to hang it. If I can get some decent lights, I might be able to use the wall in our dining room.

      1. What I’ve done in the past is I’ve used props to display the things that I am taking photos of. Unfortunately, those things were jewelry which were much smaller and easier to do this with. What about your comforter? Would it take away from the veil? Do you have a lamp you could hang it from (and bring outside just for the picture?)

      2. I’ll have to play around with that. My fear is that the veils won’t look right if they aren’t on someone’s head. Maybe I can figure out a nice way to hang them so that it still shows off their shape.

  3. I, too, am working on my photos – that’s the biggest problem for me. I saw that you used different backgrounds in another veil photo. That was nice. Anyway, I am stopping by from the Interactive Blog team on etsy and wanted to say “hello”!

    1. Thanks for stopping by! I had some outdoor photos for the other veil, but people on the Etsy Success team didn’t seem to think it was working. Wouldn’t it be nice if we didn’t have worry about photos to sell our items?

Leave a Reply

