It’s Been A While


Sorry it’s been so long since my last post. The exam period officially ended on Friday, May 4, which was when my 20 page paper on domestic violence law was due. I wish I could say I’d just been lounging around the house relaxing since then, but I had a number of Etsy order to catch up on. I still do actually, but the Dalek cake toppers have to dry between coats of paint (and my god the white ones require a lot of coats of paint!), so I have some time to take a breath right now. Also, Mr. Darcy has made a full recovery from his kitty cold, so he’s back to “helping” with my craft projects. I found a few cool new ways to make fabric flowers during the exam period, so I’m going to try them out soon. I may have a DIY post for one way if it works out well for me. For the other method I found out about, check out The Bitchy Bride‘s post How to Personalize Your Bridal Clutch – she put a fabric flower with her awesome, custom-printed book fabric on her clutch, but she also used the same method (and same awesome fabric) for bouquets.

In other news, I worked out for the first time in forever today. I wrote in my Bridal Weight Loss Rant a while ago that I wanted to get back in shape, not just for the wedding, but because I wanted to feel – and look – better in general. John and I have been trying to be more active, but it’s hard sometimes. With the stress of moving and the end of the semester, I just didn’t feel like I had the time or energy to do much of anything. Now that I’m feeling more normalized, I thought it would be a great time to get back into the habit of hitting the gym. The little fitness center at our apartment complex isn’t much, but it has everything I need – namely an elliptical machine. I got on it today and did a moderately vigorous half-hour workout. It seemed to go by pretty quickly (of course Queen makes everything better) and I didn’t feel like I was going to die during the workout. Now, I can tell that I worked out (my thighs are probably going to be a bit sore tomorrow), but I feel good. I definitely need to start doing that a few times a week at least.

In other, other news, we went to the Asheboro Zoo on Sunday. It was fun, though they didn’t have as many animals there as we were hoping. I like the fact that many of their exhibits try to mimic the animals’ natural environments, but they should have the viewing areas set up better so that you can actually see the animals. I meant to take lots of pictures with my awesome new camera, but I forgot to bring it. However, I thought I share some revelations we had about my cat, Lily. Lily is a sweet cat, but she’s a bit tubby. She also desperately wants to be an outdoor cat. This is a picture of Lily as she actually is.

Lily is the blob on the left next to Mr. Darcy

This is what Lily thinks she is – a terrifying, roaring lioness.

What Lily thinks she is

This is what Lily would be if she were a sea creature – a harbor seal.

Lily of the Deep

Alright, enough rambling for today. I thought of several good blog posts that I didn’t have time to write during exams, so those might go up soon. I also will try to post a DIY fabric flower tutorial soon.

4 thoughts on “It’s Been A While

  1. Congratulations on the end of exams and thanks for linking to my post. I can’t wait to see how your other way of making flowers. Are you burning the edges or do you have another foldy/sewy way?
    Pleased to hear mr Darcy is better too xx

  2. Glad for both you and John, that the exams are over (for now)!!! Can’t wait to see the flowers! Next time you go to the Asheboro Zoo, try to drive into Seagrove for a great experience in pottery!

Leave a Reply

