I Got My Ring Today!


For those of you who don’t know, John proposed to me (in French) with a beautiful, antique, silver and turquoise ring. He knew I’d like it, because I’d pointed it out at an antique store we went to few months earlier. Did I mention that my fiance has an amazing memory? It wasn’t expensive, but it was what he could afford at the time. He called it a “space saver” until we found a more wedding-y ring that was affordable.

The ring he proposed with

After a lot of searching we found the perfect ring! It’s beautiful, exactly what I wanted, and affordable. We got it from Cavalier Creations on Etsy. It has a blue sapphire in the center with white sapphires on either side. They’re all lab-created stones, of course, but I don’t care. They look quite real enough for me and didn’t cost the $1,000+ that getting real stones of that size and clarity would have cost. It came today and I couldn’t be happier! The only problem is that the ring is slightly loose. I ordered it in a size 5.5, but I guess I should have gone down a quarter of a size. I’m not sure what I’m going to do about it now. I don’t think it’s going to fall off, but it’s quite loose.

My new ring!
A close-up from Cavalier Creations' shop

I’m going to continue to wear the silver and turquoise ring, but on my middle finger. That’s the finger it fits on anyway – it would have cost over $100 to get it resized (I’ve been using a ring sizer to keep it on my ring finger).

We found our wedding bands on Etsy too, but we haven’t ordered them yet. We’re hoping to sell my mom’s old wedding set to pay for them. We’re getting them from Rob & Lean who make a lot of really cool titanium rings. We’re getting their titanium and blue box elder wood inlaid set, which John says is going to be like wearing a chunk of the TARDIS on our fingers. We’re going to have them engraved with “Allons-y!” Yes, we really are that geeky.

They're like awesome TARDIS rings
7 thoughts on “I Got My Ring Today!

  1. Wow, that’s gorgeous and really unusual. My ring’s a little loose too. I haven’t done anything about it and I guess I’ll just wait and get a band that keeps it on, but I spent all winter petrified of losing it in a glove or something.

    1. Yeah, I’m going to order my band in a size 5.25, so it should keep it on. It’s a little annoying the it sometimes falls to the side, but I’m really afraid it’s just going to drop off at some point.

Leave a Reply

