Birdcage Veil with Record Fascinator and Etsy Success


First of all – yay Etsy! I put my Dalek cake toppers up last night and so far today I’ve had 280 views on my shop! No sales yet, but at least people are looking. And come on, they are pretty awesome.

I put my awesome record fascinator with a birdcage veil on Etsy as a custom order. I’m not selling that particular one, but I’ll make one like it to someone’s specifications (whatever color veil they want/different types of flowers, etc.). I stopped by Carmine’s this afternoon and made John take some pictures of me in the veil that were halfway decent.

I love this!

I used also made a red one that I put on Etsy as well.

Now available in red

John thinks that we should go to Surplus Sid’s and get matching top hats for the wedding, and I should just add a veil to the top hat. I kind of like that idea too, honestly. And speaking of Surplus Sid’s, if you’re in the market for a homemade K-9 made from what appears to be part of a popcorn maker and the top of a litter box for $17, stop by Sid’s in Carrboro.

.
K-9 looks so sad - give him a home!

We also found a Dalek Sec hybrid mask. I have no idea how much that is, because it was up high and I already felt like I’d bothered the woman working there enough.

What are you doing for Halloween this year?

I’m on a bit of an upcycled vinyl kick recently, so I’m going to attempt to make a record purse sometime soon. I got the handles for it today, but I need John to fix my sewing machine so I can make a lining for it. I also have a design in mind for a TARDIS apron that I want to try once I start sewing again. I have a new DIY tutorial for my record desktop organizer that I’m going to post on Monday, so be on the lookout for that.

I was about to go yell at the cats for scratching on something, then I realized that sound was actually hail hitting the window! I guess they weren’t kidding about the tornado warning / severe thunderstorm watch. I guess this is a good stopping point for this somewhat disjointed post.

Leave a Reply

