Dalek Cake Toppers & A TARDIS Candle Holder


So many projects, so little time. It’s been another busy day for me. I went to Walmart, Michael’s, and the Habitat Restore to pick up some more supplies. Then I got down to the crafting.

I finished my Dalek cake toppers and listed them on Etsy. I think they’re pretty adorkable. I started painting another bride Dalek with a metallic white paint too, though it seems to be coming out more silver. I was thinking about getting some small wires and making a tiny paper flower bouquet for her instead of the single, large (compared to her) ribbon flower. If I stick with the ribbon flowers, perhaps I shouldn’t put the leaves on there though. What do you think?

Exterminate the cake!

For our wedding, we have larger Daleks, but we probably aren’t going to paint them. Of course, they’re 5″ tall and might not fit on the cake. We’ll see.

Ours are a bit bigger and not decorated yet

I also finally finished my TARDIS candle holder project. John originally had the idea to make TARDIS candle holders for our centerpieces. He envisioned something a bit different (he was going to hand paint them, because he’s a good artist). I hope that he’ll still do some hand-painted ones for our wedding, but I realize that my skills lie more in the digital realm. So I printed all sides of the TARDIS on vellum and painstakingly (it really was a pain in the ass) put them on the glass. Then I sprayed it all with clear varnish (I discovered in an earlier experiment that spreading modge podge on it smears the ink). I think it turned out pretty well. You can see more pictures here…and order it – come on, I know you want to.

Behold the TARDIS candle holder

My third bit of excitement came when I started making some cool record fascinators with birdcage veils. I may have accidentally made my wedding headpiece. I originally wanted to do a birdcage veil, but I’d been leaning towards a floral circlet instead like this or this. I had some French netting around and was trying to figure out what to do with the 45s I got yesterday. I came up with this, and I really like it! I’m not sure it will go with my dress, but I think it’s pretty damn cool. Also, it’s on a Count Basie record (don’t worry, it wasn’t playable), which is pretty cool. Unfortunately, John isn’t sure if he likes it. Of course, he hasn’t seen it in person yet.

2012-03-23_18-57-28_507
What do you think?
One thought on “Dalek Cake Toppers & A TARDIS Candle Holder

Leave a Reply

