Super Easy DIY Ribbon Flower Tutorial


I’ll let you in on a little secret – I love making things. Michael’s may be one of my favorites places in the world. It’s certainly one of the most dangerous to turn me loose in. I have a set of drawers in my living room that I refer to as my crafting drawers – the top one is full of paint, ribbon, crayons, etc.; the next has so much yarn in it you can hardly close it; and the bottom one is overflowing with jewelry making supplies. My problem is that I sometimes lack follow through on projects. That’s why John’s police public call box scarf will probably still not be finished by this Christmas. So you know what’s awesome about these ribbon flowers? They take next to no time. So even someone as horribly ADHD as me can pop off a few of them and be like, “Hey, I have some lovely, finished flowers…is that a squirrel?”

So without further ado, I present to you…the tutorial.

First of all, you’ll need a few materials:

1.5″ WIRED ribbon – the ribbon has to have wires running through either side for this to work

Pipe cleaners

Floral tape  – it’s a green, semi-sticky tape that you can find in the floral section of Michael’s or Walmart (not the outdoor section, the place where they have the fake flowers)

Scissors

Optional: tape measure for cutting the ribbon

Step 1
Cut about 20-22″ of ribbon. You can cut more or less depending on how you like your flowers – cut less for smaller, more compact flowers; cut more for larger, fuller flowers. If you’re going for large, full flowers, mesh wired ribbons work really well, but the flowers aren’t as tight as the one I’ve shown.

Step 2

Tie a knot in one end of the ribbon near the end. This will be the base of your flower.

Step 3

On the other end, start pulling out one of the pieces of wire. The side you start pulling the wire out from will be the bottom of your flower, so keep that in mind if you’re using ombre ribbons like I am.

Step 4

Gently start pulling the wire out by pushing the ribbon towards the end with the knot. I find that holding the wire between my teeth while I do that helps. Be sure not to pull too hard or the wire will break. You should end up with something that looks like this:

Step 5

Hold the flower by the knot and start wrapping the side where you pulled the wire out (the edge that now has the bunched up ribbon on it) around the knot.

You can adjust the ribbon as you, making sure the unbunched edge stays at the top of the flower. Once you finish wrapping, it should look something like this:

Step 6

Take the wire and start wrapping it around the knot to secure the flower.

Step 7

If you want to use the flowers for some other crafts (I think they’d look great on fascintors), then you can stop here. The next part is adding the stems. First cut off most of the excess wire, leaving a tail that’s a few inches long. Put the pipe cleaner up to the knot and place the wire alongside it. Then, starting at the knot, begin wrapping the floral tape over the knot, wire, and pipe cleaner.

Continue wrapping the pipe until you get to the end.

Congratulations, you’ve made a ribbon flower! Pretty easy, huh?

3 thoughts on “Super Easy DIY Ribbon Flower Tutorial

Leave a Reply

