Bridal Weight Loss Rant


When I checked my email this morning I had the usual slew of wedding-related emails – the newest sale at David’s Bridal, $250 bridesmaid dresses that are such a good deal, amazing $4800 photography packages that I can totally afford, etc. I also had an email with the subject “You Said Yes to the Dress, Now Say Yes to the Body.” It was from David’s Bridal Fitness Boot Camp. Yes, that’s right – a Bridal Fitness Boot Camp specifically designed for brides so that they can actually fit into the $2000 dress they just bought.

There’s certainly nothing wrong with getting in shape – I’m hoping to start working out again once we get a new apartment. However, I have a problem with the incredible push towards wedding weight loss for brides. Almost every wedding checklist I have seen has something around the 9 month mark that says “Start wedding diet and exercise regime” or something along those lines. If someone wants to lose weight anyway and use their upcoming wedding as a motivator, that’s great! However, those people probably don’t need a reminder in a wedding planning checklist. Making weight loss seem like an integral part of the wedding planning process just serves to make women uncomfortable with their bodies. For women who have struggled with eating disorders, seeing that item when they just want to know when to send their save the dates or book the caterer could be incredibly triggering.

My fiance proposed to me because he loves me and wants to spend the rest of his life with me. That isn’t contingent on me losing weight before the wedding. No one’s wedding is going to be called off because they don’t lose weight (if that’s the case, there probably shouldn’t be a wedding in the first place). Of course, we all want to look beautiful on our wedding day. However, people tend to describe beautiful brides as radiant. Not thin, not svelte, not model-esque. Radiant. And chances are that you’re going to be radiant on your wedding day no matter what your weight, because you’re marrying the man you love and happiness is the best beautifier.

So stop worrying about weight and start worrying about what really matters – like monogrammed cocktail napkins.

5 thoughts on “Bridal Weight Loss Rant

  1. I completely agree, you should only lose weight if that is what YOU want, not because you feel like you have to. I just happen to be that bride who is working out just a little bit more before the wedding because I want to look a certain way, but not because anyone told me I should be thinner! I even had a whole post of my workout and eating regimen 🙂 Could be a good read if you want ideas.

  2. So glad for your post! As a high school nurse, I see young women (and young men) who struggle immensely with eating disorders. It disturbs me that something which should be a very happy event, might instead, trigger this problem!

  3. That crud makes me mad too. I’ve always been a gym going type of person, but I did change some of my habits when I realized I was going to have some people stare at me for a couple hours for the wedding. I went to the gym before as a “if I work out now I can eat some cheesecake later” kind of thing. The wedding was the kick in the pants to start eating how I should (although I’m still sneaking in cheesecake!).

    My fiance has been wanting to lose some weight, but kept coming up with excuses to get out of going to the gym with me or eating better. The wedding was a good excuse for him to start actually investing the time in himself. He’s lost weight, and he’s excited about it, but it’s not something that was motivated purely by the wedding.

    I’m all for using the wedding as an excuse to get your butt in gear if it’s a lifestyle change you’ve been wanting to make and just avoiding. Doing it JUST for the wedding irritates me to no end. There are some girls at the gym I go to who are “getting in shape for the wedding”, and listening to the way they talk about it (“I can’t wait til the wedding is over so I can go back to eating mac and cheese”) makes me want to hit them a little bit. A lot bit. Just a lot.

    1. You’re totally right – it’s a lifestyle change. And like any lifestyle change there has to be some internal motivation for it to stick. My fiance quit smoking shortly after we started dating. He had been wanting to quit for a while, but meeting me (I’m asthmatic and hate the smell of cigarettes) gave him the push he needed to actually make the leap. Had he done it solely to please me, it probably wouldn’t have worked for long. While weight loss/getting in shape aren’t quite the same, they are big changes that have to have an internal impetus to make any real, lasting difference. Doing it just for the wedding isn’t going to do anyone any good (except maybe your seamstress).

Leave a Reply

